#SOLSC- DAY 2 -They Say Time Heals Everything

On visiting my parents house every week, I visit my mom’s room for sure. I open up her side drawers to find her handwritten notes on scraps of paper. The most organized person I have ever seen in my life IS my AMI. Her dressing table is still set the way she left it. Her clothes are still hanging inside the wardrobe. No one wants to touch them or give them away. I think we all still want to believe that she is alive and around.

Ami’s dressing table

I could feel a thin layer of dust settling on the top of her clothes. Two weekends back, I took them out, dusted them…cleaned the wardrobe and with much love, returned those clothes back into the place where they belonged. But this time…I was not able to find her body’s perfume in her clothes…I wish it had not faded away.The sweet smell of her hair in her scarves has gone. I saved a few strands of fallen hair from her scarf. Her hair brush doesn’t smell like her hair any more. I open her lipsticks often to see the marks of her lips.I opened her hand bag once and found how neatly she used to keep her vanity items. Her wallet had passport sized pictures of my father and my brother. The pack of sugar free snacks…a packet of tissues and hand sanitizer.

Everything is there…but not the one who owns them. The only reality of life is DEATH…nothing stays forever…and death is the only truth that can never be a lie.I wish people could value and be grateful for the blessing they have in their lives.

People say kind words to me like: you are brave, time will heal this, it shall pass…the truth is that it came to me and I had no other choice but to pass through these burning coals. Time does not heal us, it just teaches us to live with the loss in our lives.The show must go on…they say!

How I managed the NORMALNESS of life requirement under this trauma was no less than a juggling. More on this in my next blog. I HAD to burn in this cauldron  and yet not lose my sanity…mourn on this loss yet take care of my kids at home and at school. No one deserves to be ignored. I have a duty and a much loved responsibility. My job is what I love…looking at those bright faces and AHA moments my students get, gives me more zeal to dedicate myself and bring a change in their lives.

Am I keeping well? Yes, I am…I have grown out of this and I will share it soon how. One must admit that it is a scar that will self-bleed and then self-heal ….a pain that turns to pangs sometimes and then goes away. The umbilical cord…the belly button…I am made in her body…a part of her is ME…still lives in this world. I am HER now…and so are my other three siblings.

Someone has her skin color and hair texture while someone has her shape of hands and feet, and someone has her habits and nature.

Yet…we have to stick together to feel her presence around us.

Losing her made us realize how important our relationship is and how important sticking together as a family is.

12 responses to “#SOLSC- DAY 2 -They Say Time Heals Everything”

  1. I can feel the pain because I’m going through it, yes for me time is not a healer the more time pass more I miss my father, I never ever think this person will leave us, he was always there he is around us n he will be always always there for us , but now no,
    Sometimes words are not enough to express.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Huma Zahid Bhutta Avatar
    Huma Zahid Bhutta

    Beautifully written. There’s nothing more painful than loosing a parent. Can understand this pain have been there since long. Soon your girls will grow up share your Ami things with them. It’s so beautiful to see them wearing your most priced possessions.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Sadaf,
    Thank you for a wonderful write up that clearly sums up the basic reality of life, one must never forget and accept.
    One can visualize through your words. Keep writing, All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Going through loss is always a solitary journey. Keep finding the strength to take the next step, however big or small it may be.

    Like

  5. Yes, we have to learn to live with the pain and loss. Your children must be missing her too.

    Like

    1. Yes! My daughter who is only 5 yrs old, often sees her in dreams.

      Like

  6. Loss is so heavy. I lost my grandma six months ago and it’s the most unexpected things that catch me off guard and make me miss her more. I pictured the way you took care of your moms things, stopping to smell- searching for her. So powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kristi Lonheim Avatar
    Kristi Lonheim

    This line, “Time does not heal us, it just teaches us to live with the loss in our lives.” is so poignant in its rawness and truth. Time marches on, if you want it to or not. Grief is so unpredictable. Thank you for sharing your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The pain you experience can be seen in your eyes every single day. i also see a strong woman ready to face the world. You said it right. Time does not heal us, it just teaches us to live with the loss in our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pain is inevitable, and so is the circle of life. Time is the best healer they say, but it is only true for external wounds not internal lashes. For that, the ache remains that acts as your strength or weakness as time sways.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This is beautiful. You capture the feelings of loss and grief so very well. I’m sorry you need to know these emotions so intimately.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started